• 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 6
    • 7
    • 8
    • 9
The Assam Kaziranga University

Upper Assam Debater's Summit 2019

Upper Assam Debater's Summit 2019

Debate is one of the academic activities that give students a creative room to express what they feel. The length and breadth of knowledge that they gain through this is simply unparalleled.

The Literary Club of The Assam Kaziranga University in collaboration with the team OBHIGYOTA has set the benchmark for successfully organizing the 'Upper Assam Debater's Summit 2019' on 30th August 2019 at The Assam Kaziranga University auditorium.  The main organisers of the event were Vikrantjit Saikia, President of OBHIGYOTA & Literary Club, KU; Rishav Jyoti Baruah, Secretary, OBHIGYOTA and Abhishek Dogra, Vice President of Literary Club, KU. A total of 50 participants from Debraj Roy College, Golaghat; J B College, Jorhat; Carmel School, Golaghat; DPS Nazira; Crescent Academy, Jorhat; DPS Numaligarh and Reliance Junior College, Dergaon vied for honours in the summit. Dr Debasish Baruah, HOD, Department of English, Furkating College, Golaghat chaired as honourable Speaker of the summit. The participants, armed with statistics and data, validated and made their arguments more emphatic with right facial expressions, body language and gestures. They displayed confidence in presenting their arguments before the audience and the eminent jury members Sri Surendra Mohan Hazarika, President, Golaghat Sahitya Sabha  &  Bishnu Gogoi, Assistant Professor of English, SET.

Winners were awarded cash prizes, mementos & certificates.

Vote of Thanks was proposed by Pulak Bora, Mentor, Literary Club & Assistant Professor of English, SOB. The event concluded on a joyous note.


Category A (UG & PG level): (Is it necessary to provide autonomy to the colleges of general education of Assam for the qualitative upliftment of Higher Education?)

  1. Best Debater:  Sarat Chetia
  2. Best Researcher: Rashmi Kalita

Category B (Std. VIII-XII): (Should Reservation be based on Economic Status?)

  1. Best Debater : Gayatri Dugar
  2. 2nd Best Debater (Male):  Ayushman Sameer Gogoi

2nd Best Debater (Female):    Anushka Kashyap

  1. Best Speaker (English): Anshuman Hazarika

Best Speaker (Assamese):     Jagyotri Chutia

  1. Best Researcher: Sourav Pran Saikia