• 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 6
    • 7
    • 8
    • 9
The Assam Kaziranga University

Jorhat District Inter College Debate Competition

Jorhat District Inter College Debate Competition

Name of the Programme: Jorhat District Inter College Debate Competition

Topic in opinion of the house: "The New Education Policy will bring radical changes in the education sector and improve the quality of education."

Organised by: School of Business, The Assam Kaziranga University

Date of the Programme: 23rd September, 2022

Time: 10.30AM-2.30PM

External Judge: Mrs. Maheshwata Devi, Assistant Professor, Department of Assamese, Assam Women's University

Internal Judges: Dr. Saurabhi Sharma, Associate Professor, School of Social Sciences; Mr. Bishnu Gogoi, Assistant Professor, School of Engineering and Technology

Speaker: Dr. Subhasish Sharma, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Jagannath Baruah College

Participants: Students from Assam Agricultural University, Assam Women's University, JB College, Cinnamara College, Borholla College, DCB Girls College, KV RRL, Bahona College and Kaziranga University.

Number of participants: 51

Details of the Programme: School of Business, The Assam Kaziranga University, have organized a Jorhat District Inter-College Debating Competition on 23rd Sept. 2022. The event began with an inaugural session at 10 AM where all dignitaries came to the stage for lighting of the lamp followed by a felicitation session of the judges and speaker of the event. The event then continued with a Welcome Address by The Dean, School of Business, Dr. Manvinder Singh Pahwa, where he enlightened all participants and the audience of the importance of knowing about the New Education Policy. After the welcome address, the competition formally began with the speaker explaining all rules and regulations to be followed throughout the competition and declaring the house open. Participants have very enthusiastically put forward their arguments for the motion and against the motion which really made the environment for the audience of sitting in a parliament. Once all participants gave their arguments, Honorable Speaker gave his ending review of the entire competition and declared the vocal results of the debate where participants against the motion of the house won the round. Before declaration of the results, our external judge Mrs. Maheshwata Devi came to the stage and very beautifully explained various things which are to be taken into consideration in any debate competition. After this, Dr. Saurabhi Sharma declared the results where Ms. Raginee Bora and Ms. Banashree Boruah of DCB Girls College won the best Team award, presented by Dr. Debashish Panda and Dr. Subhasish Sharma. 2nd best team was won by Ms. Dimpi Dutta and Mr. Rounak Rupam Parasar of Jagannath Barooah College, presented by Dr. Manvinder Singh Pahwa. The best debator award was won by Sudipta Saikia of JB College, presented by Mrs. Maheswata Devi and 2nd best debater was won by Mrinmoy Bora of Bahona College, presented by Dr. Saurabhi Sharma. There was also an upcoming debater award which was bagged by Ms. Doli Devi of Kaziranga University presented by Mr. Bishnu Gogoi. The programme ended with a group photograph of all the winners with the dignitaries and a vote of thanks by Miss Baishali Pathak.

The entire programme was coordinated by Ms. Bandana Thakur and Ms. Baishali Pathak.